Panda in Paris


automne tout à coup

Posted in France by parisianpanda on October 15, 2009
Tags: , ,

1) On Monday Axel and I went on a trip around the Seine on the Bateaux Mouches.

He was significantly more interested in the other boats than in any of the monuments. (“There’s a purple one! Purple is my favorite color!” “That one has a car on it!”)

Also, there are narrations on the boat as you go past monuments in six or seven different languages, and the English version speaks with a British accent. Axel thought it was funny that he pronounced “Frahhhhnce” with a long “a” sound. It is nice that at least one French person thinks the British accent is more ridiculous than the American one.

Axel with his face full of cookie.

Axel with his face full of cookie.

2) My old host brother has a band that he has secretly been in for a year and a half without telling me. They are called Noisy Anvil, which is hilarious. I watched them play yesterday with Kat and it was truly a sight to be seen. I wish more of my friends had secret hobbies for me to discover.*

3) Jezebel had a post recently about how Breast Cancer Awareness Month is all a big marketing ploy, and I realized that it doesn’t exist here. Which is nice because I’m already pretty aware of breast cancer. Also, there is probably no cause no matter how noble that could make Parisians buy a bunch of pink crap to put in their houses, except maybe a campaign to put George Clooney in every movie.

4) I have allowed a neighbor lady to hijack my weekend to babysit her albino baby. Apparently there are four albino people within three blocks of me. If David Lynch made movies in Paris instead of the suburbs he would make them in this neighborhood.

5) I have still not had to go my real job regularly and won’t have to until Monday. Also supposedly a few of the teachers that have requested hours for me won’t actually need me until after vacation. Which means I have sort of quasi-worked for three weeks before getting ten days’ paid vacation. God bless this country.

*That was probably an invitation for my Olympia friends to start telling me about drugs.

You see Corentin thinks he is funny because he is hitchhiking in the RER, but the RER is going to stop anyway! They are a hilarious, the French people. Haven't you seen the originial Three Men and a Baby?

You see Corentin thinks he is funny because he is hitchhiking in the RER, but the RER is going to stop anyway! They are a hilarious, the French people. Haven't you seen the originial Three Men and a Baby?

I could probably use a haircut.

I could probably use a haircut.

One Response to 'automne tout à coup'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'automne tout à coup'.

  1. Carley said,

    Ha! I thought that boy was Matt! Which is funnier to me than it should be.


Leave a Reply

