Panda in Paris


ma vie en panne

Posted in France by parisianpanda on December 4, 2009
Tags: , , ,

– This blog has not been updated in forever because my computer is toast. Dead forever. I am sans ordinateur until I go home for Christmas and get the other Macbook from my house. A hard lesson: if you dent your Macbook, even just a little bit on the bottom case, get it replaced because apparently your whole machine will fall apart and turn into a glorified iPod charger if you don’t.

– I have taken lots of pretty pictures of pretty things since Eric has been here like Canal St. Martin and the fancy window displays for Christmas at Galeries Lafayettes and Printemps but I cannot show you them yet because of aformentioned toast computer.

– I am writing this on a school computer with a French “azerty” keyboard, so if I stop paying attention and there is a “q” where an “a” should be, that’s why. Also you have to hit the shift key to get numbers, because apparently things like é, è, ç, and à are more important.

– I am moving out of my current apartment, possibly to an apartment just outside of Paris in Levallois with the Spanish assistant from my school, but nothing is yet sure.

– I met someone who finished the Master’s program I am currently applying to this year. He has a super cool job in political communications which is pretty much exactly what I want to do. The problem is he doesn’t seem to think he needed the master’s degree he has to get his job and that I may be better off getting a master’s in France and not take out another fat student loan to pay for an American one. So now I don’t know what to do with my future again. Maybe I will go to Seattle and get a job folding jeans and sleep in my friend Paige’s living room until her boyfriend hates me. That sounds more fun than continuing my education.

– I am supposed to work 12 hours a week, but due to a combination of illnesses, exams, strikes, Muslim holidays and mandatory sex education seminars, I have taught 10 hours in the pasr 2 weeks; My pay is not affected. This is a glorious country.

– This may be the best thing on YouTube:

Until next time!

2 Responses to 'ma vie en panne'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'ma vie en panne'.

  1. Celena said,

    Amanda! It makes me happy when you update your blog and I vote YES on Seattle. Sorry to hear about your computer… Call me when you’re back home! I miss you.

  2. Paige said,

    As much as I’d love the you coming to Seattle thing, I think that getting your masters in France is a brilliant idea.

    However, my couch will always be available to you.


Leave a Reply

